Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

And it begins… Again.

Leave a comment

So I just finished two very long (yet astonishingly short) years of business school and will be graduating with my MBA in global business next week. I’m taking this time off to reassess my life and figure out what needs to happen next, or more appropriately, what I want to happen next.

Prior to starting b-school, I had really gotten into running and was actually really beginning to enjoy it. Backstory: In grade school and high school, I couldn’t run to save my life. I was a pretty decent soccer player, but my position only required short bursts of running (and even just a few of them in the years we had a good offense). Shortly after I graduated college, I decided on a whim to run the Race for the Cure. I had always been jealous of the people in school who would come in with the shirts the Monday after the race, but assumed I could never participate because I didn’t run. Of course, no one told me at the time that most people walk the 5K. As a freshman in high school, I wanted to try out for the cross country team, but chickened out at the last minute when my friend who had agreed to try out with me ended up transferring to another school. When I saw the ad for the Race for the Cure in 2006, it seemed like no time like the present to make up for past regrets. Boy was that a mistake. I did horribly, and I ached for a week after (no training and a sedentary desk job do not make for fast or comfortable runners), but I loved it. I started running 5Ks and eventually moved my way up to 5 milers and Half Marathons. Although I was firmly a “back of the pack” runner, I loved it.

Just before starting b-school, I had managed to get into the Army Ten Miler and was incredibly excited to run that race. Unfortunately, it was not meant to be. Three weeks of intense orientation (like 8-12 hours per day, 6 days per week intense) followed by a 16 credit semester completely derailed my training and I ended up scratching. I was so upset, but due to my choice to go to b-school, I decided it would be best just to give up on running – I just didn’t have the time anymore.

Well, guess what. I’m finished with school (for real this time – seriously), so I’m planning on picking up where I left off. I am running the Baltimore Women’s Classic 5K in June and am aiming for the Baltimore Half Marathon in October (I had originally hoped to sign up for the ATM again, but the logistics were just a bit too difficult this time around). Last time I trained for a Half, I kept a blog in order to, as Anderson Cooper would say, keep me honest. I plan on doing the same again this time. I have a lot of work ahead of me – two years of sloth have killed what little ability I had – but I am really looking forward to crossing that finish line in October. The 13.1 miles will be the easy part. It’s the next five months that have me shaking in my boots.

Leave a Reply

