Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

A slow run is better than no run

Leave a comment

2012-07-18 13.53.39

I saw this on my facebook timeline yesterday, courtesy of Brooks running, and it couldn’t have have shown up at a better time. For some reason this week has been rough for my runs. Yesterday morning I couldn’t get myself out of bed (for the second day in a row) and by the time I did it was far too hot to go running; instead, I ran on the treadmill. I know understand why it’s called the dreadmill. I’ve never been a fan of treadmills, but I can say, unequivocally, that I absolutely hate treadmills. 1 mile on that thing felt like 5 miles outside in the mud. I had the treadmill at about my average pace, and altered the pace as need be (because I don’t run a stead pace outside), but omg. Never again.

This morning I did manage to pull myself out of bed and got to the trail by 8:00am, but the air was thick. It was slightly overcast and 74 degrees with 95% humidity. Again, my legs and lungs just felt heavy. I’ve done this run before, but it was wayyy easier the last time. I’m hoping it’s just because it’s week 4 of training and my body is hitting a stubborn spot, but I sure hope it goes away fast! I’m going to go to spinning class tomorrow and see if that can’t kick start my system before Saturday’s “long” run.

Leave a Reply

