Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Setbacks suck

Leave a comment

The weather yesterday was absolutely gorgeous. Sunny, cool, dry. Very un-Baltimore-summer like. When I heard that it was supposed to be oppressively hot and humid again today, I decided to move my Thursday morning run to Wednesday evening, and had planned on getting in 3 easy miles. I did my usual warm up and started on my run, but within 100 yards an old injury reared its ugly head and I could barely walk, no less run. I walked and stopped to stretch the leg a bit, but it just refused to cooperate. I managed to eek out 2 miles, but I was in a ton of pain. I’m taking the next two days easy, icing and massaging the surrounding area to see if I can’t loosen it up before Saturday’s 4 miler.

There’s a good sports medicine clinic in the area that I went to after I injured the same muscle in the Frederick Half a few years ago and I’m trying to get an appointment with them again to see if they can’t offer some advice on how to deal with this and continue training (or at least not completely stop training).

On the bright side, I am superexcited that the Olympics start tomorrow!! I’m a complete Olympics nerd – I already have my DVR set to record all of the televised coverage (I think I need a bigger DVR box!!), have the shortcut to nbcolympics.com saved on my favorites bar, and have the NBC Olympics and Live Extra apps downloaded to both my phone and iPad so I can see what’s going on at any time. I don’t care what anyone says, I’m a sucker for the whole Olympic ideal and have no intentions of changing that.

Leave a Reply

