Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

When it rains it pours…

Leave a comment

Well, training was going well. I went to the running clinic at Towson Sports Medicine (great place) yesterday to have my leg checked out and I have indeed strained the soleus again. The good thing is it’s not bad. The bad thing is this muscle doesn’t like to heal (not just on me, in general). The physio I met with thinks it’s acting up because of tight, weak hips, rather than because of a knee or ankle weakness. iced legBecause my hips aren’t holding form, their weakness and misalignment is being transferred down the leg and absorbed by the rest of my leg. She advised that I ice the hell out of it for a few days, and then at least once a day (especially right after a run/workout) for a week or so thereafter, and gave me some stretches and exercises to open my hips and strengthen them. I’m pushing my training plan back a week to hopefully keep the rest of it from completely derailing and taking it very easy when I do get back out there. On the bright side, I got to sleep in this morning and watch the Olympics! Say what people may about the opening ceremonies last night, but I loved them – they seemed very British (for better or for worse). No, they weren’t super flashy like the opening ceremony in Beijing, but it seemed to be a good representation of the host country. I thought they were very well done. And I LOVED the segment with the Queen and James Bond!

I also had an appointment yesterday with an ear, nose, and throat (ENT) doctor to get my sinuses checked out. For years I’ve had problems with a chronically stuffy nose, even thinking it may be a deviated septum or something, but the last ENT I went to a couple of years ago told me there was nothing wrong. My GP had me tested for allergies a few weeks ago, but everything came back normal, and he recommended the woman I met with yesterday. It turns out there’s nothing seriously wrong with me, but I have non-allergic rhinitis – this is usually treated with a medication, but I’ve been on it for months and I still can’t breathe. The next treatment option is surgery to physically open the nasal passage. I’m getting a CT scan next week just to make sure there’s nothing else going on in my sinuses, but I’ll probably be going in to get the surgical treatment which should make it easier for me to breathe. I’m really excited that that may allow me to breathe normally for the first time in a long time, but that means I’ll have to take more time away from my training, so I’m not so excited about that. Better to get it dealt with though than to keep having to take decongestants like they’re vitamins.

I may be laying low for a few days, but I’m still collecting donations for Back on My Feet! We are all so fortunate to have had so many people in our lives pushing us forward, telling us we can do anything we put our minds to, and helping us to realize our potential. We take these people for granted, but not everyone is so fortunate. Just having someone tell you “you can do it,” perhaps for the first time ever, really can turn a life around. Please consider giving to such a great cause.

Leave a Reply

