Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Long run

Leave a comment

Having so much time off this week was great for watching the Olympics (sadly, that also meant that I spent much of my week in front of the TV – very healthy). Like a good girl I iced my leg daily (sometimes more), stretched it out, and did the strengthening exercised the PT gave me. I only did one 1 mile run during the week, just to see where my leg stood, so to speak. It was a somewhat painful mile, but I got through it. I kept up with the icing and stretches and picked up a compression sleeve for my leg (and let me tell you, the one-legged neon green look goes amazingly well with my neon orange shirt), and that thing made all the difference in the world.

 

The trail I run on is a former rail trail and has two distinct grooves going north and south from years of use by bikers and runners – the middle raises up a bit with moss, grass, or just stone dust. Each of the grooves is perfect if you’re biking or running alone, but if you’re with someone else one of you is forced onto the center ridge, on to the side of the trail, or into the other lane. Very few people frequent the part nearer to where I live except for the on the weekends, when you get tons of people who don’t use it very often and don’t always recognize the rules (you know, like give warning that they’re flying up behind you on their bikes before they’re running you over), so when the husband and I went out for our long run yesterday we spent a lot of time squishing up in the one lane to reduce the likelihood of ending up with tire tracks up our backs. Aside from when I got pushed up onto the bump, which forced my left leg to turn inward, my leg felt pretty good. We covered four miles and felt pretty good during and after the run.

 

August 4 2012

 

I was poking around the Runner’s World forums this past week and one of the threads I saw made me think. A guy was asking for advice on his training plan for an upcoming half – it looked a fair bit like mine – and someone else commented that 3 miles isn’t enough distance to properly warm up, run, and cool down. When I run, I don’t count my warm up or cool down in my mileage. If I run 3 miles, I run 3 miles. I may have a mile of warm up and a mile of cool down, but they don’t count towards my weekly mileage. Is it “cheating” to consider warm ups and cool downs in your weekly mileage? How about walking to the store or walking the dog? Where do people draw the line between “training mileage” and just movement due to daily life?

 

a mile is a mile

 

P.S. I’m still collecting donations for Back on My Feet!

Leave a Reply

