Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Being Nosey

Leave a comment

So Saturday night I had my first post-op workout – and it wasn’t half bad! I did 30 min of easy cardio on the elliptical and only had to take one break, around 8 minutes in, because my nose started throbbing. After that it felt fantastic. I probably could have gone longer, but didn’t want to risk pushing too hard too soon and making things worse in the long run. I did a little bit of light strength training to see if I could kick my legs back into gear – again, I barely even noticed it the next day, so I think it’s safe to push harder next time, but I don’t want to risk it just yet… it’s just not worth it. I think I’m going to give spinning a try tonight and/or tomorrow morning – I need to preempt that turkey dinner somehow! 

Because I’m cleared to run next week, and up until now all of my running has occurred in the summer months, I’ve been scouring the stores for cool and cold weather running gear. It is amazing how little there is out there for 40-50 degree running! All I want is a vest – nothing too heavy, but nothing so light to a leaf falling from above would rip through it. Like literally no one is selling vests this year. Everyone has jackets, of varying thicknesses, but finding a vest is proving to be quit frustrating. Last time I checked, Maryland is not Montana – we don’t get that cold in the winter! And when we do, it doesn’t last long. I did manage to find two items to get me started – the Nike Fast Pace long sleeve running shirt (sadly, not in that great color below, because like everyone and their mom has bought it out of existence) and the Nike Element Half Zip.

nike fast pace long sleeve      Nike-Element-Half-Zip-Womens-Running-Top-481320_627_A

The shirt’s material is porous, so I think it’ll be great for those transition days, as long as it’s not too windy. And although I don’t like things on my arms – especially layered sleeves – I think the half zip will be great for cooler or windier days, and will go just as well with shorts as it does with pants. Now I just need to find the mythical vest…

Now that I’m getting excited about running again, I’m starting to look forward to 2013 and am planning my race schedule. Nothing’s finalized, but it’s looking like I’ll be making appearances at…

  • the Maryland Half Marathon in May,
  • the Dreaded Druid Hills 10k in June,
  • the Bird-in-Hand Half Marathon in September,
  • the Philadelphia Marathon (Surprised smile) in November, and
  • the Celtic Solstice 5 Miler in December.

I’m really looking forward to all of these, even if I’m really kinda terrified of the idea of attempting to complete a full marathon in a year.

Leave a Reply

