Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Green Sunday

Leave a comment

Happy St. Patty’s Day!! shamrock-image

In the past I’ve participated in the local St. Patty’s Day race and the Shamrock Half in VA Beach, but with the entry fee of the former rising and the coat of a hotel for the latter prohibiting, I decided to pass on a race this year – there are others I’d rather put my limited funds towards. Yesterday was supposed to be a washout so I panned on running today before scarfing down a proper corned beef meal. Well, it turned out to be gorgeous yesterday – go figure. Today, however, was cold and spitting snow. I planned to pull back on mileage this week and just did 3.5 miles. As I was pulling back on mileage though, I thought a harder run was in order. I managed to get 3.5 miles in just about 43 min, which is close to my 5k pr pace.

Now that I’m getting more comfortable (mentally) with pushing my limits I’m going to try to incorporate it more frequently. They say running is 90% mental and I couldn’t agree more (on both ends of that phrase). For me the mental component has been the biggest struggle. The body needs to catch up but I find that less exhausting than getting my mind on board. Once the mind clicks, everything else seems to follow rather quickly.

Leave a Reply

