Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Summer runnin’

2 Comments

So, how long does it take to adjust to the heat? Because it’s been weeks and I’m starting to wonder if it’ll ever happen for me.

I went out with the intention of doing 3-4 miles and ended up covering 3.6. My quads are in good shape – I powered up all the non-super-sunny hills without a problem, but I’ve definitely got to work on strengthening my hips and lower legs.

My shin splint decided to come out and play after my last run, so I was a bit conservative because of that, but the power just wasn’t there today.

It’s turned out to be a gorgeous day today. I’m enjoying my post-run snack (almonds, a slice of bread with University of Delaware honey, and a super cold glass of chocolate soymilk) out on our deck, admiring our little veggie garden.

20130629-120303.jpg
It’s not much, but it’s ours, and it’s doing surprisingly well. Although something keeps eating the newly formed buds off of our pepper plants and another something just started digging in our red beauty pepper pot…

Growing up I was always surrounded by green – my parents have always had wonderful gardens, even when we lived in a townhouse – and I really missed that green space when husband and I moved here. It’s a rental, so we can’t do too much with it, but the veggies add some green to an otherwise blah backyard and we get to enjoy the veggies we grew! I’m really looking forward to the day when we have our own property large enough for a respectable veggie garden. There are so many more things I want to try growing 🙂

2 thoughts on “Summer runnin’

  1. The key to running in the heat is to run smart. Run slower. I wear a cap and sun glasses. Also stopping to drink is a good idea.I would not worry too much about distance but rather run for a period of time.Perhaps 20 minutes out and then run home….or what time suits you. Good luck.

    Like

    • I think the slowing down part is what I need to work on the most. I carry my water with me and drink when I need to and run in the shade whenever possible, but I think I’m having a hard time slowing down. Maybe that’ll have to be the focus of my runs this week. Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

