Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

100th Post!

3 Comments

Wow, this is my 100th post! Who knew it would last this long 🙂 Guess I should have done something crazy for this one, huh?

Although my group didn’t have an official run today – the store organized a race today – I still had to get in 8-10 miles. Eek! I decided to head back to the reservoir where we ran the other week. It started off okay enough – I was able to run up the first hill without stopping, unlike last time – but the downhills killed my hip and shin, and it was downhill from there (ha). But I did get 9 miles in!

Photo Aug 10, 9 02 59 AM

It took longer than I wanted, but I got them done.

Photo Aug 10, 9 48 22 AM

Photo Aug 10, 9 57 42 AM

Somewhere around mile 6 as my legs were fighting me I got the insane idea to try out an ice bath. You always hear of runners and other athletes using them for recovery, and as long as my legs usually take to recover from long runs it seemed like there was no time like the present to give it a shot. So on the way home, husband stopped and grabbed a few bags of ice and I bundled up for the worst 13 minutes of my life.

Okay, so maybe it wasn’t exactly the worst 13 minutes of my life, but it certainly wasn’t as fun as sitting on the beach in Aruba with a piña colada. But it was cold. Really, really cold.

Photo Aug 10, 4 09 19 PM

There’s a lot of contending research and opinions on whether or not ice baths work, but so far I must say that my legs do feel better than they usually do after a long run.

Want to give this form of torture therapy a try? Here are some good jumping off points:
8 Ice Bath Dos and Don’ts
Ask the Experts: Are Ice Baths Beneficial?
Do Ice Baths Reduce Muscle Soreness?
Sport and Recovery: End of the Ice Bath Age?
Ice Baths 101: 9 Tips to Survive an Ice Bath

3 thoughts on “100th Post!

  1. Glad you are feeling good after your ice bath! Thanks so much for including a link to my tips in your post. Good luck with your training!

    Like

    • Thank you! Your post was very helpful in getting my plan of attack in order. I had never really given ice baths much thought before and you had everything i needed to know laid out perfectly.

      Like

  2. This is the first I’ve heard of ice baths but it totally makes sense! I’ve had good success with icing a specific injury, so I can see how this would help recovery after a long run. Thank you for this info!

    Like

Leave a Reply

