Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

The bib I will never get to wear, take II…

Leave a comment

20131018-143730.jpg
Went down to DC to get my packet for the Army Ten Miler today – and got another reminder of how maddening this stress fracture has been. I have been looking forward to this race for about five years now, and this is the second time I have registered and DNSed it 😦

The expo at least was enjoyable and pretty empty, so it was possible to actually look around and not feel super rushed. Got lots of free water bottles!

20131018-144353.jpg
I am planning on completing 10 miles in some upright fashion on Sunday, even if I have to be on the elliptical through the entire Ravens game (and judging by the way they’ve been playing lately it might be a better use of my time). I know I should be happy that I’m healing and working on making myself stronger for the long run (ha, no pun intended), but that’s just so damn difficult to appreciate right now when all I want to do is complete one damn race, even if I’m the last one across the line.

I know it would be foolish, but there’s a part of me that really wants to get up at 4:00am on Sunday to drive down and at least attempt to walk the race. I know that part of me needs to be beaten into submission, but I’m having a very hard time refuting its argument right now.

Leave a Reply

