Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Moving forward!

5 Comments

I visited with ortho #2 today. When ortho #1 said I may have to give up running because of this stress fracture, I immediately called for a second opinion. I don’t like “never.” The appointment was very positive – she wants me to progress slowly, strictly following the 10% rule, which is admittedly going to be hard, but she said as long as I don’t have pain during or after, keep moving forward. If there is pain, stop and re-evaluate. I’m going to keep working out on the elliptical through turkey day, and then will add running in after that, starting with a modified couch-to-5k style program.

She warned about the possibility of perpetual stress fractures, which definitely could sideline me permanently, but that as long as I am cautious I should be good. She also told me about the alter-g treadmill. Anyone heard of that or used one? It sounds like it’s basically a treadmill with an adult-sized bouncy harness hanging above it to reduce your weight and therefore your impact while running. I’m not sure I’m going to make an appointment for it, but it sounds pretty cool! They also have a PT who is a marathoner who could study my running form and let me know if there’s anything that needs to be changed to prevent future injury. I am contemplating setting up a consultation with him. It may be more time and money now, but hopefully it’ll help prevent future injuries (and costs!!) in the future. As much as I like the orthos and PTs I’ve met over the years, I’d really rather not see them.

But enough about that – now for the fun stuff! With her blessing, I registered for a St. Patty’s day 5k! I am so incredibly excited to get back to training and cannot wait to run this race. I ran it in 2009 and it was tons of fun. It starts out downhill and then runs around the harbor before finishing with a huge party! My dad ran it with me last time and will be training for it this year again.

5 thoughts on “Moving forward!

  1. That’s great news and I’m so glad you got a second opinion!! Good for you for not giving up! And scheduling a race, even far out, is a great motivator 🙂

    Like

  2. That’s right – slow and steady!

    Like

  3. Yay for the second opinion! Happy healing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

