Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Consider the Kohlrabi

2 Comments

Kohlrabi is really having its moment in the spotlight right now. If you don’t know what a kohlrabi is, It’s a funky, alien looking veggie that inspires more questions than meals for most. I have been intrigued by it for a while – the NYT has been talking about it for about a year now – but finally tried some when of the farms at our local farm market had some at the last day of the season. It was a deep purple and just begging to be tested. I must admit, I wish I had tried it sooner. It’s fantastic sliced into a salad. I never made it beyond that because it was just too damn good in salad form and was devoured before we could try any other recipes.

20131113-005247.jpgA recent article in the Washington Post reminded me of our extraterrestrial little friend. I’ve always been a huge fan of broccoli, cauliflower, and iceberg lettuce (like, ridiculously so), and recently spinach, bell peppers, and onions, but have often struggled to add new veggies into my repertoire.

What are your favorite veggies? What do you do with them? What’s your favorite veggie side-dish or entree? I’m a sucker for roasted broccoli with a bit of olive oil (or truffle oil), salt, pepper, red pepper, and parmesano-reggiano cheese. But one can only subsist on broccoli for so long (although it has served me well for 30 years)

2 thoughts on “Consider the Kohlrabi

  1. My son is a little freaked out by kohlrabi. We got some at the farmers market a few years back, and it started sprouting new leaves as it set on the corner. He thought it was regenerating to do a hostile takeover of the kitchen.

    I think it tastes pretty darn good. It makes an interesting cole slaw.

    Like

Leave a Reply

