Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Bucket List Race

2 Comments

You know you have one – a list of your absolute dream/must-do races. Some are probably more realistic than others (helloooo, Antarctic Marathon), but you’ve probably got a list of at least one. I have one, and it’s quite extensive.

There’s one race on there that I’ve been talking about for years – the Dreaded Druid Hills. It’s put on by Falls Road Running, which puts on my favorite, albeit less brutal, winter race, the Celtic Solstice 5 Miler. Unlike the Celtic Solstice, which is on/around the winter solstice, the Dreaded Druid Hills is generally held on one of the hottest, muggiest days of the year (interested yet?) and is 6.2 miles of torturous hills. Despite its reputation as a killer race, I’ve been drawn to it since I first heard about it. I hoped to be ready for it last year, but as injury-raddled as I was I decided to sit it out and volunteer instead. It’s a fairly small race, usually around 500 runners or so, but the sense of camaraderie is infective. Everyone’s there for the challenge (and bragging rights).

Dreade2

Well, I finally took the plunge. I registered this morning!! I’m a little nervous, but super looking forward to it. Maybe the cabin fever of this winter is to blame? Either way, I’ve got 15 weeks to get ready, which should be more than reasonable, assuming my leg plays nice this year.

For some sadistic reason I love running hills, so this seems like a great excuse to really focus on hills, which should also ramp up my fall half training quite a bit. I’m still on the fence as to what my big fall race will be, but if it’s the Baltimore Half again, I WILL be prepared for those hills this year.

2 thoughts on “Bucket List Race

  1. While I haven’t run this race, I don’t know that I can bring myself to register for it. I will probably just be getting into longer distances for marathon training but Druid Hill is brutal. The last two years when I ran the Celtic Solstice I think why do I do this to myself? Haha. I hear that Dreaded Druid Hills is a great race and I love Fall Road Running, so I am sure one day I will be doing it just not this year 🙂

    Like

    • Haha I can totally appreciate that! I took that approach the first couple of years I was interested in it, even though I was doing high enough mileage training for my halfs. I figure the only way to know if it stands up to the hype (and impending doom) is to find out first hand 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

