Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Real food

1 Comment

Last night the local farm market announced that they’ll be opening mid-May, which makes me oh-so-happy 🙂 (it seems spring really will happen… at some point…)

And then I saw this article posted on Be Well Philly, with substantial evidence that eating real food is healthier for you than any of those silly fad diets everyone swears by: http://www.phillymag.com/be-well-philly/2014/03/26/ditch-diet-now/

I love growing my own veggies and using them in my meals – it’s so much easier to include healthy items when a) all you have to do is go out your back door to pick them and b) you’ve put the time and energy into growing them. If I could, I’d have like an acre of fruits and veggies. But alas, it’s not in the cards right now. There’s just something so much more satisfying about cooking that gorgeous red pepper you grew from scratch rather than something you picked up at the store.

What are your favorite veggies? What are your favorite foods to grow?

One thought on “Real food

  1. I was just chatting about this earlier today. I think the whole diet idea is so old. Just get fresh real food and you will be fine. I am not vegetarian but a friend of mine that is said she doesn’t have to diet because her food is the real deal and good for you. So true.

    Like

Leave a Reply

