Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

A long, hot three miles

Leave a comment

Holy moley it’s hot! Last night I met up for a fun run at my local running store. It was my first run post-DDH so I knew it was going to be a bit rusty (I’m not sore per se, but my legs are still tight in a few places).

20140702-095413-35653782.jpg
The run was sponsored by Brooks which meant we got to try out some new shoes! I’ve been intrigued by the Transcend since it was announced – it’s touted as being a supportive shoe with lots of cushion, so I was considering adding it to my rotation to stave off repeated injury.

20140702-095449-35689223.jpg
Well, sad to say, I wasn’t terribly impressed with them. For all the cushioning they supposedly have, they were a rather hard ride. They also felt a bit firm and heavy. Now granted I was running in men’s shoes because they don’t usually bring women’s size 11 shoes to events like this, but I’m not sure that made that much of a difference.

The run itself wasn’t half bad – the only down side was the heat and humidity. We were running along some main roads, which while the asphalt made it a even hotter, the constant breeze from passing cars felt pretty good. Our route took us right past the house that my other grandmother used to live in (what a trip down memory lane this week has been). It’s amazing how much the neighborhood has changed over the years.

I’m not sure if it was because of the shoes or the race, but my legs got heavy during the second mile and I ended up walking most of the last half mile. I ran 11:03 and 11:04 in the first two miles, but closer to 13:40 in the last mile.

After the run they had beer waiting for us. As I don’t drink beer, I’m thinking of stocking my running bag with small bottles or juice boxes of wine for the post-run celebrations 😉 Just because I don’t like beer doesn’t mean I don’t want to enjoy myself…

How have your runs been this summer? Has the heat and humidity been an issue for you? Or have you been able to acclimate yourself?

Leave a Reply

