Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Long Weekend Wrap-up

Leave a comment

What a gorgeous weekend!! I hope you all enjoyed your long 4th of July weekend as much as I did.

Friday a friend and I took the beast for a nice, long(ish) 5 mile walk. Sadly for her that’s just not nearly long enough, but it’s what we got done. It was actually a bit chilly when we got to the trail in the morning, but it considering how much it had rained the night before I really can’t complain.

Photo Jul 04, 9 22 49 AM

Photo Jul 04, 10 14 37 AM

lazy, lazy cows relaxing in the long, long grass

Photo Jul 04, 10 14 12 AM

I just hung around the house for the remainder of the day. One of the best parts about living in a rural area like I do is that we don’t have to go anywhere for fireworks – our neighbors always bring amazing fireworks displays to our backyard, literally. On most July 4ths we can see at least 4 great displays from our property. This year, the house directly behind us had a party and a wonderful display right from their back yard which lasted every bit of 20 minutes and nearly looked professional.

Unfortunately due to WordPress restrictions I couldn’t load the video right into the post, but it’s up on youtube, so just click the link or click here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBrC4LgdtaQ). 

Because of all of the fireworks in the neighborhood, I didn’t get to bed until after midnight on Friday, so I pushed my Saturday long run off a day. I intended to sleep in, but ended up waking up at 6:38 – just in time to see the Duke and Duchess officially open the Tour de France!! I love and hate the TdF – it’s a great competition and amazing scenery, but it’s so early and lasts forever so I feel like I lose had of my day. I know, I can get up and walk away. But that’s like leaving in the middle of the football game and catching the box score on your phone! Just not the same.

Momma, wake up! It's time for the Tour de France!

Momma, wake up! It’s time for the Tour de France!

This morning I slept in a bit but still got out for a nice run. This was my “off” weekend between races and half training, which begins next weekend, so I just planned an easy 4 miles. I got out a bit too late, though – my new favorite place was packed, so I had to find another location to launch from. With the holiday weekend and the gorgeous weather, the trail was much more crowded than normal, but it was a good crowded.

I told myself I couldn’t stop running until I got to my turn-around point (2 miles) .When I got to the turnaround I hadn’t quite hit 2 miles, so I ran two laps around the parking lot, and getting some odd looks from tubers, before heading back. At that point, I kept going without taking a break. I told myself I could stop when I got to the gnome hill. But when I got there, I was like “well the waterfall is only half a mile away… keep going until then.” When I got to the waterfall, I was like “but there’s only half a mile left in your run – why stop now??” So I ran all 4 miles non-stop (10:54, 10:59, 10:53, 10:22; avg pace of 10:47), which is still kind of a big deal for me. I’ve been shattering my physical barriers lately, but I still get hung up on the mental barriers from time to time. Knowing when I want to take a break versus when I need to take a break is a big hurdle I need to work on, especially in training for ATM.

Seeing as I missed much of this morning’s TdF stage, I’m catching up on the encore presentation this evening while drafting this and enjoying a glass of wine. A perfect way to end a wonderful weekend.

How was your 4th?? What amazing things did y’all do this weekend? Any great runs?

Leave a Reply

