Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Long Run Saturday

2 Comments

I woke up at 3:45am this morning. Not by choice. The phone alarm was set for 5:00am, but the brain alarm decided that 3:45am had a 5 in it, so it was close enough. Ugh. 

It was drizzling a bit this morning when I was getting ready – no biggie. Welcomed, in fact. It’s been “chilly” by summer standards around here this week (upper 70s/low 80s for highs, 50s and 60s for lows) but this morning was warmer and muggier than any other day this week. 

Today’s run was my second run with my half group and our first run as a group on the rail trail. I went in planning to do 6 miles, but the girls I was running with were aiming for 7. I compromised and went for 6.6 miles. The water stop at 3.3 was just far too alluring. 

Aside from the break at the water stop, I ran the entire distance and maintained an average pace of 10:45, which is super speedy for a long run for me! I even set unofficial 5 mile and 10k PRs (53:46 and 1:06:xx, respectively)! The last mile or so was a bit of a challenge – I really just ran out of steam – but otherwise the run felt great. Running with others is much more enjoyable than I ever could have imagined; they really helped me keep going when, let’s be honest, I would have stopped if I had been by myself. 

Photo Jul 19, 10 12 11 AM

After the run I came home to a pleasant surprise – our new stove was installed! Our kitchen has been torn out for the last 5 weeks, which has led me to eating a diet of like 90% carbs, and about 70% take out. I never realized just how much I don’t like cereal. Surprisingly though, my weight has held steady. I was sooo beyond excited to actually have an omelette for breakfast after my run! I have missed them so… 🙂

Photo Jul 19, 12 28 22 PM

2 thoughts on “Long Run Saturday

  1. …….and now I want an omelet 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

