Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Hydration Systems – Advice Needed!

1 Comment

I currently run with a large handheld water bottle. It’s good enough for most runs, unless it’s really hot or dry out and I run out of water. It has a spot for my phone, key, and a Gu. I’ve been using it for two years now and while it works, I’m interested in exploring other options. Namely, hydration packs. A waist-belt just isn’t an option for me.

I’m strongly considering investing in a Camelbak-like hydration pack at some point – especially if I intend to go through with training for a full marathon next year. Like I said, the handheld has been fine, but when I’m tired it’s just one more thing I have to focus on (namely, not dropping it!) and usually have to fill it up at least once on-course during a half marathon (harder said than done!). I like running with my phone, but have been leaving it behind lately because it’s just added weight on my wrist.

From what I’ve seen online I really like the Nathan packs, but I’ve never run with one or even tried one on. I like that they have a number of pockets for storage which are easily accessible and the bungee on the back for storing jackets on chillier days.

Do you use a hydration pack? If so, which one(s)? What do you like about it and what don’t you like about it? Do they get hot on your back during the summer? 

One thought on “Hydration Systems – Advice Needed!

  1. Thanks for posting this! I have a waist belt, and I’m not crazy about it at all. It holds two 8 oz water bottles, and they just bump up and down on my hips the whole time and it’s pretty annoying. The Nathan packs look really lightweight and a lot more comfortable to run with!

    Like

Leave a Reply

