Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

11 Miles? Check!

Leave a comment

My brain still doesn’t seem to have dibs on blood yet, so my thoughts aren’t all here, but wanted to at least toss out a quick post-long-run update! 

Went out planning to do 11 miles today. We were on the crushed stone trail this week – a nice change from last week’s pavement pounding. My legs were a bit heavy from the big mileage increase this week, and for a while it felt like they were planning a coup, but I was able to get through the first couple of miles and finally hit a groove.

Once we hit the turnaround (which was eerily quiet and empty for a Saturday morning), our pace really picked up and we ended up running negative splits! My hip started getting cranky after I stopped to Gu and refill my water bottle at 7.2 miles, but we both pushed through. And just for shits and giggles, just when I thought M was completely outta gas, she suggested a quick pickup to the road after we hit 11 miles. It was hard, but I’m glad we did it. 

Screenshot 2014-08-30 11.11.49

 

My muscles are a bit sore and my knees are a bit creakier than usual, but all in all it was a damn good run. I have logged 31.01  (yes, .01) miles this week, a new personal high (!), and am just under 90 for the month. Tomorrow’s shakeout will take me over 90 for the first time ever. Wow. I’m feeling more and more confident about coming in under 1:45 at Army and I think I’ll be able to really enjoy Baltimore this time. I can’t say enough good things about this training group – I really don’t think I’d’ve hit as many milestones this summer as I have without them. 

But now, it is time to ice the bejesus out of these legs of mine. 

Have a great weekend! 

Did/will you run long this weekend? How far? If you’re training for a race, how’s training going? 

Leave a Reply

