Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Impromptu half marathon!

Leave a comment

I know, I haven’t been very good at posting lately. :-[

Last Tuesday was a great speed workout that combined the track, hills, and the road. I felt absolutely amazing during and after and couldn’t have been more thrilled!

Last Wednesday we had a “mentor session” with the group in which our coach goes over what to do in the month before race day and answer questions and concerns people might have about these last few long, long runs as well as the taper process and what goes on on race day. Afterwards a few of us went out for an easy run in the neighborhood. From the first step my achilles was complaining. I thought it just needed some time to warm up, but with every step it yelled at me. Nothing seriously painful, just nagging. Thursday morning I couldn’t walk normally. Friday I went in to PT and got Grastoned.

Feeling somewhat better, I taped up the achilles and went to my long run, knowing full well it wouldn’t be great and I wouldn’t be running 12 miles. I got in a good, if not labored 6 miles. It’s funny – I felt awful (overall) and like I was seriously dragging, but I still averaged an 11:00 pace, with two miles under a 10:08 pace. I also tried out my new Nathan Hydration Pack. Why did I not get one sooner?!? I absolutely loved it! It was a bit heavy, with three bottles worth of water strapped to me, but the pack was amazing.

10653776_10101693556586005_5655213740831015293_n

My Achilles was still bugging me a bit when I went to PT on Monday, so he did some some active release on both legs – which felt absolutely horrible! Oh my gosh… I know it’ll make a huge difference later, but it is so painful when you’re going through it. He cleared me to run a low-key half marathon this weekend, under the condition I stop if things start hurting too much. I’ve been tossing around the idea of this half for a while because our group is “officially” meeting downtown and I just don’t want to drive down there or run down there. I’m scheduled for 12-14 miles, so 13.1 is right where I need to be! And for $2, even if I have to duck out and DNF, it’s still totally worth it.

The best part? One of the women I train with asked me to pace her!! It’s going to be her first half marathon. Selfishly, it works out really great for me because she runs about 1:00 – 1:30 per mile slower than I do which will force me to keep a slow pace and not push myself unnecessarily. But above all, I’m just so honored she asked me to pace her and help get her to the finish! 🙂 I never thought I’d be the kind of runner that others might look up to or respect. I’m super psyched for this weekend!

treasure every mile

Leave a Reply

