Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Frustration

1 Comment

Running is easy. It’s being injured that’s hard.

Today I went for a walk on the trail and while I was happy to be out there and see so many other people out, I was honestly kinda resentful towards the runners. I smiled at every one of them, but I was jealous of them. I haven’t run outdoors since Baltimore. I just want to run. No distance goal, no time goal, just go.

I got an achilles brace this past week that seems to be really helping, but it’s not 100% yet and honestly, I’m somewhat afraid to test it out. I’m afraid that while it feels good while standing or walking, running is going to be just jarring enough that it’s one step forward, five steps back.

I’ve decided to pull out of the Philly Half because of this. Admittedly, I’m not okay with this decision, but I know it’s the right one. I know it would be stupid to run a half after not running for nearly a month on a wonky achilles. The risk just isn’t worth the reward. But that doesn’t make it any better.

The crisp fall air and gorgeous leaves are too nice to be wasted indoors. I just want to go for a nice fall run. Why is that asking so much?

One thought on “Frustration

  1. I totally relate to you. I was training for Long Beach Marathon and got injured 1 ½ weeks prior… It was plantar fasciitis and I could not run. I limped for at least 3 days. That was over 1 1/2 months ago. It’s good that your recovery is coming along fine. I was frustrated at first too about not being able to be just hike and run, and as an avid hiker and runner, I just wanted to hike and run like before the injury. However, after 4 weeks of not being able to do any of that but home remedying the injury, I was able to hike a very strenuous trail and also run 3 miles. That began 2 weeks ago. I just did one of the top 5 strenuous hikes in the US past Saturday. And I am going to start training for Surf City Marathon very shortly. It takes time. But eventually you will get there. Just focus on healing. As it gets better and better, you will feel a whole lot better. As you might have noticed, healing becomes a sort of challenge on its own. I realized that it’ll take a bit more time to reach the level of strength, endurance and conditioning for hiking as well as running, but it’s also part of the progress that I could enjoy because I realized that I am truly learning more about myself and my body. You will get there. You know that. And you keep telling yourself that. Just be positive and push yourself through it. Focus on healing. One day you will look back at this moment and say it wasn’t that bad, just like anything else in life. Good luck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

