Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Busy, Busy Week!

Leave a comment

Sorry I’ve been a bit delinquent with my posts – it’s been a very busy week!

Last week and over the weekend my mom and I made soooooo many Christmas cookies and treats

The best fudge recipe EVER.

The best fudge recipe EVER.

What do you do when your cookies sheets won't fit in your freezer? You put them out on the freezing cold deck. :)

What do you do when your cookies sheets won’t fit in your freezer? You put them out on the freezing cold deck. 🙂

Saturday my mom and I went to Alexandria, Virginia for the Scottish Christmas Parade with some wonderful friends.

Photo Dec 06, 12 27 28 PM

Scottie, meet Scottie 🙂

Photo Dec 06, 12 24 00 PM Photo Dec 06, 12 11 27 PM Photo Dec 06, 12 10 51 PM Photo Dec 06, 12 10 41 PM

Photo Dec 06, 12 52 45 PM

I may or may not have gone just for the dogs. Sadly, though, we were too late to see the herd of Westies.

We had lunch with our friends at a great little tapas restaurant, La Tasca, in Old Town. We only live about 1.5-2 hours apart, but because of the inherent “distance increases” Baltimore and Washington traffic can add, we rarely see each other. One of them, Carlo, is moving to Miami for work after the new year, so that has shifted the distance calculus a bit.

On Sunday I went for a cold, windy, and hill 4 mile run with Melissa, one of the women I ran with this summer, and I got to try out my new (Christmas gift – had to test it out to make sure I like it enough to wrap it!) Nike Flash jacket – which was amazingly warm! But not rainforest-warm like some jackets I’ve had in the past. It breathes really well. I had gloves, a pair of UA ColdGear tights, and just a tank top under the jacket and was more than comfortable. Afterwards Aaron and I met to walk the Beast.

Photo Dec 07, 12 39 31 PM Photo Dec 07, 10 17 25 AM Photo Dec 07, 10 17 02 AM

Monday I went shopping for an upcoming event. Spent 5 hours at the mall, called it my cardio workout for the day.

LOVED this necklace - too bad it was final sale :(

LOVED this necklace – too bad it was final sale 😦

Tuesday I had an info session with my training group for the winter – I really think I’m going to like it! We have a new coach (my summer coach is days away from having her third child) with a nice mix of old and new runners. It sounds like most of the people that showed up for the meeting have run half or full marathons before and are using this, and their goal race, as a means to get through the worst of the winter, which is exactly what I’m doing (sans early-spring goal race).

Wednesday – oh, Wednesday…. I got to go play in DC. At Villa Firenze, the Italian Ambassador’s Residence. AH-MAZING.

It was a small-ish gathering – the Christmas party for the staff of the Italian Embassy – but oh-so fun and oh-so-Italian. 🙂

Photo Dec 11, 10 11 23 AM Photo Dec 11, 10 11 03 AM Photo Dec 11, 10 10 56 AM Photo Dec 11, 10 10 43 AM Photo Dec 10, 8 03 47 PM

Hand-blown Murano class chandeliers and light fixtures throughout the house.

Hand-blown Murano class chandeliers and light fixtures throughout the house.

Photo Dec 10, 7 59 22 PM Photo Dec 10, 7 59 00 PM

Photo Dec 10, 7 58 18 PM

So much fun 🙂 I so need to get back to DC….

And this morning I woke up to surprise snow 🙂

It's hard to see, but I promise it's there!

It’s hard to see, but I promise it’s there!

Tonight is ladies’ night at my running store, tomorrow I have absolutely nothing planned (phew!), and Saturday is my favorite race of the year – the Celtic Solstice 5 Miler!! Can’t wait for the post-race wassail!

Leave a Reply

