Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Closing Out 2014

4 Comments

In many ways 2014 has been the best and worst year of my life. I still haven’t been able to find a new job (seriously, so many people who can’t think their way out of a paper bag have high paying jobs – what’s wrong with me??), my marriage and relationship of over a decade (you know, 1/3 of my life) ended, and I’m still living with my parents (no offense, mom and dad).

In many other ways, this has been a great year. I hit all but one of my New Year’s Resolutions – I don’t know why, but I have a very hard time reading here. I used to plow through books but just can’t seem to even get interested in them now. My running has been better than I ever could’ve imagined. I ran more miles than I thought possible. I massively PRed at every distance and in all but one race (technically, I didn’t PR at the Dreaded Druid Hills 10k, but its hills are so intense I’m classifying it separately from all other 10ks). I lost 30 pounds. And I’ve gotten more comfortable with doing things that make me uncomfortable (learning how to be single, going to parties or events where I know maybe one person, etc.). I’m still a stubborn ass, but I’m learning to be less stubborn. And although my marriage ended, we’re still friends, so it hasn’t been a total wash.

FullSizeRender 3

All said and done, though, I can’t wait for 2014 to be over. I’ve been over it for some time, now I just need to wait for it to officially be over. 2014 did end on a happy note, though – I got to spend the afternoon with my Beast 🙂 Having her lean up against me and wag her tail simply melts my heart. I’m a sucker for leaners.

Looking towards 2015, many of my usual New Year’s Resolutions are continuing, but my old stand-by, try new things, isn’t even really a resolution at this point, it’s just part of my life.

2015 Goals

Hold me to these. I’m starting 2015 off with a 5 mile race on New Year’s Day morning. I’m missing the ball drop, but I’m okay with that – I had no desire to stay up until midnight anyway this year. As much as I’d love to get a kiss from my loverboy at midnight, I don’t think he can even stay awake that late.

P1000008

Anyway, it’s already 2015 in Sydney, where my heart still lives, so I’m not really missing anything.

Here’s to a great 2015! Be safe tonight, everyone!

IMG_8557

4 thoughts on “Closing Out 2014

  1. Happy New Year!!! I’m wishing you afantastic 2015 (and a great 1st marathon)!!!

    Like

  2. Happy New Year Stephanie!!! They just keep getting better from here on out. Trust me. I feel that when you look back on 2014 you may see that it was one of your best years ever. From my perspective it was a year full of PR’s. Not just speed, time and distance. But a year of discovery, a year of finding yourself. And the best part is that you did it all on your own. For me 2014 was a wonderful year of watching you grow into this beautiful Woman, Runner, Athlete that you have become.

    Like

  3. Happy new year! I lost my job last year and fortunately received severance pay, but that won’t last forever. It’s hard to stay positive when you are job hunting. Believe in yourself! 🙂 And remember that others are in the same situation. It’s easy to believe you’re alone, but you are not.

    Like

Leave a Reply

