Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Outdoor Long Run!

4 Comments

It’s been a few weeks, but I FINALLY got a full-length long run in outside! It was a brutally cold 18 degrees and super windy along the water but totally worth it.

wait for perfect conditions

All of Charm City Run’s groups met at the downtown location this morning. As much as I dislike running downtown (it’s so far away and the brick aggravates my achilles), it’s always so great to see so many runners along the waterfront.

IMG_8879

This week was a cutback week for us, but I was on a mission – I needed to get 9.37 miles in today in order to get my first 100+ mile month ever.

IMG_8881

I started off more or less by myself but picked up with some marathoners from the Annapolis store. Once I warmed up enough to not notice the cold (as much), it was a really nice day for a run. My pace was pretty comfortable and mostly in the lower 10s/upper 9s, even though it didn’t feel that fast.

I turned around in Canton when the Annapolis ladies stopped to gel up. In my 5th mile, the Promenade changed from brick to wood planks, like a boardwalk. Well, one of those planks was bowed up – and dammit if my toe didn’t catch it. I tried to stop the fall, but my legs were too cold for me to pull them high enough and yep, I ate it. Hard. When I stopped sliding forward, I hopped up, made sure my Nike Flash jacket wasn’t totally destroyed (which, surprisingly, barely had a mark on it!), dusted myself off, and kept going. The only thing I felt at the time were the scratches on my hand, which had sweat pouring in to them.

Down for less than 20 seconds and didn't even pause the Garmin!

Down for less than 20 seconds and didn’t even pause the Garmin!

The return trip was a bit lonely, as I turned around after the half marathoners but before the full marathoners, but there were so many other runners out there so I was never truly alone.

IMG_8883

My achilles were definitely a bit angry with me for doing such a long run on the brick, but I felt really great right up until the last mile. This was totally unexpected because I haven’t been on the road much lately.

When I got back to the store I immediately changed into some dry clothes and was able to survey the damage from my fall. My knees and hip are scuffed and bruised – I swear I can watch the bruise grow – but thankfully my clothes came out unscathed. Whaddaya know, running really can screw up your knees 😛

IMG_8885

The other great thing about these big group runs? Free brekkie when we get back 🙂 Bagels are good, but free, 10-mile bagels are awesome.

4 thoughts on “Outdoor Long Run!

  1. Congratulations! I fell on my knee the other week because of all the ice, so I sympathize! It’s still bruised. Running in the cold is good for you! LOL

    Like

  2. Way to get out there! I have been such a huge wuss with this cold. I keep thinking of joining up with a group to motivate me a little more to get outside. (It’s hard alone.) I’m sorry about your knees! Falling is the worst. Been there.

    Like

    • Thanks! Honestly, having a group is the only reason I’ve been consistently getting out there in this cold. I’m so not a winter person and am such a wuss by myself – I’d much rather be asleep in my warm bed at 5:00am!

      Like

  3. Wow, what a pretty run. We could’ve been knee twins, what with my recent fall.

    Like

Leave a Reply

