Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Hilly 8 Miler

1 Comment

I apologize for the abnormally short post – I’m super exhausted. It’s been a long day and I’ve had more nights of poor sleep this week than I’ve had in a while.

Being so-not-a-morning person, early training runs are difficult for me, especially in the winter, but sunrises like this morning’s make it all worth it 🙂

FullSizeRender 5

crappy picture, gorgeous sunrise

Today was long run day and we hit up our favorite hilly route around the reservoir. Although there were a number of groups there, it felt unusually empty.

IMG_8946

J, a girl who was also in the fall training group with me, and I planned on 8 miles, tackling the biggest hills first. I successfully crested all three of the major hills without stopping – something I am very proud of 🙂 It just occurred to me the other week that Dreaded Druid Hills is only 4 months away and I’ve been slacking on my hill training, so this made me very happy.

We saw some people fly fishing in the water below the dam and a number of people birdwatching along the road. We were pleasantly surprised to see a bald eagle perched in one of the trees on our return trip! I had no idea we had bald eagles around here and this was only the second time I’ve ever seen one.

IMG_8949

The hills aggravated my achilles so I’ve been alternating ice and heat all evening. I have another run, much shorter though, with another training group tomorrow morning, so I’m doing whatever I can to get it ready for that.

The only down side to running with two groups? No more sleeping in on the weekends. With that, I’m off to watch some tv and hit the hay early. Have a good weekend, everyone!

One thought on “Hilly 8 Miler

  1. We occasionally see bald eagles here in New York state, especially during the winter months. He must have been awesome to see! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

