Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

I’m Back!

4 Comments

And just in time for National Running Day 😉

national-running-dayLast night I went out for my first run since Brooklyn – and, naturally, it rained. It was an unseasonably cold 59 and drizzly, but it still felt amazing to be out there.

The track has never been something that I thought I’d enjoy, but yesterday it was just calling my name. I truly never thought I’d crave the track!

I did a nice easy warmup mile, followed by a cruising-pace ladder workout. The plan was to run easy, just to get back into the groove of things, but apparently my legs had other plans! Every repeat was under 9:30 pace, with most closer to 9:00 – and my 1600 repeat was my fastest at 8:40! Go figure 😛

All in all I got in a very satisfying 5.75 miles. Not too shabby!

Plans for marking national running day are still in the air, but I’ll find time to do something today 🙂

Why do you run? 

blank-logo

I also run because I love the feeling of accomplishment – both short term and long term! Never in my wildest dreams would I have thought that I’d be training for a marathon. Running has taught me that nearly anything is possible, if only you’re willing to work your ass off for it.

How are you celebrating National Running Day? 

4 thoughts on “I’m Back!

  1. Thats a perfect reason for running! Taking time off has made me more grateful than ever for being able to run. Strangely enough, I occasionally crave the track too:) Thank for linking up, have a great national running day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice job! I enjoyed a lovely morning run on my regular country road route to celebrate National Running Day. For me, having the opportunity to be outside and experience the sights and sounds along the route is half of the pleasure of the run. Happy National Running Day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

