Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Runday Funday!

Leave a comment

It seems the theme of the summer is going to be rain. Lots and lots of rain. It’s been unseasonably cool these last few days, and today was no exception. It was in the upper 60s, but super super muggy.

Our group was a little bit smaller than usual because of the holiday, but we still had a really great turn out.

I set out with my usual partners for 12 miles, with the plan to just take it slow and get the mileage in the book. On our first hill, about 2.5 miles in, I tried to keep the slower pace, but just wasn’t able to – for the rest of the run, I just powered up each hill, waiting for my partners at the top. I don’t know why, but I have a really hard time keeping a slower pace on hills. Don’t get me wrong – it’s not necessarily a problem – but I do feel a little rude pushing past everyone on hills during training runs (I certainly feel no guilt during races, however!). But ultimately, it’s about my running and I need to do what I need to do.

Because we were running so long this week, we crossed the main road into another part of the zip code. Normally I don’t care for running over there (it’s just so far from the store if something happens or the weather suddenly turns), but it was surprisingly enjoyable today. It started drizzling a bit on the way home, which was such a welcome relief from the humidity.

When we got back to the store, they had bagels and coffee waiting for us. 🙂 I do love a long run bagel.

IMG_1014

Just after we returned it started down pouring. I was sooo glad we got in when we did 🙂

Today’s run got me up to nearly 35 miles for the week – a new weekly high for me! I’m thinking a few (very) easy active-recovery miles are in the works for tomorrow to push me up over 35 (I train on a Monday through Sunday week).

Screenshot 2015-07-04 13.46.20

For the last two years I’ve followed pretty much the same fueling strategy, but I’m switching it up a bit for the marathon to see if I can find an even better method. I tried Gu Rocktane today for the first time. I was a little hesitant about it at first because it has more carbs than what I’m used to, but it also has more sodium and electrolytes, which I think could be beneficial for me on those super hot, sweaty runs. Dealing with hyperhydrosis I need to be extra sure I’m fully hydrated without allowing the electrolyte balance to get too far out of whack. To my surprise, it didn’t seem to bother my stomach at all and I only needed one, around mile 5.5, to get through the run. Runningwarehouse has certain flavors on sale right now, so I may have to stock up on a few more.

Something I noticed today was that my quads felt so strong going up those hills. My calves, not so much, but it was such a great feeling. With Baltimore being such a hilly course, that makes me really optimistic about this whole experience.

With that said, I think it’s time to go enjoy my rainy 4th with a good movie marathon. Happy 4th of July Everyone!!

IMG_1020

Leave a Reply

