Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

About Last Night’s (Killer) Hills…

4 Comments

When I got the email outlining this week’s workouts (something I always look forward to – I’m such a nerd), I was in for a bit of a surprise. Hills. Lots of hills. Not just a hill workout, but a hill workout AND a long run on a very hill course. Oy.

Runner Resting with Hands on Knees --- Image by © Bernd Vogel/Corbis

Runner Resting with Hands on Knees — Image by © Bernd Vogel/Corbis

Not gonna lie – I kinda started to come up with reasons why I should skip Tuesday’s hill workout. My achilles hurts. My ankle’s been bugging me. My achilles feels good. My legs feel good. I got vertigo last year. It’s going to be hot.

But you know what sucks more than this hill? Running hills alone.

You know what’s awesome? Killing hills together!

IMG_1077

See that little while speck at the top of the hill? Yeah, that’s not the top of the hill – that’s like the halfway point.

IMG_1084

*Sarah Palin voice* I can see Pennsylvania from the top! (not really, but almost… kinda)

Last year I had a horrible time with this hill and it made my already grumpy leg ache even more. This year? Piece of cake! Well, no, not really. More like a piece of liver. But still – it was a hell of a lot less torturous than last year! I had no vertigo, just a little bit of an asthma attack (the heat and humidity were atrocious), and made it all the way to the top 6 times 🙂 It only workout to be about 1.9 miles total, but holy moley was it a hard 1.9 miles! Even going downhill was a challenge – my feet kept slipping around inside my shoes, making it hard to feel like I had a good footing with each step.

Screenshot 2015-07-08 15.28.36

This hill is so bad ass that Baltimore Ravens linebacker Ray Lewis used to come up here to run sprints up it for his workouts. Of course, he did it carrying logs (show off). This hill may not help us win a Super Bowl ring, but it will sure making those hills in October seem that much easier (plus we’ll all have killer calves and asses 😉 )

tumblr_mg0gt0u5uI1r70xplo1_1280

bd1a161a3c99bef9f720b91e586d31d9

I may just have to come back up and tackle this one again on my own sometime. 😉

My calves and glutes are definitely feeling this workout today. I’m looking forward to a nice, easy workout tonight with a whole lot of core and upper body work – need to get these legs good and recovered to power up that dam hill on Saturday!

4 thoughts on “About Last Night’s (Killer) Hills…

  1. Ack….. I hate zee hills! Great job conquering them!

    Like

  2. Hills are the devil…but make you badass on race day!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

