Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Ortho Update

Leave a comment

After last week’s hill workout and Saturday’s hilly long run, I had been feeling a bit of pressure in my tibia. I had a similar issue for a hot second last year, but I really didn’t want to mess with it this time seeing as I’m, you know, training for my first marathon.

I decided to take this week easy (e.g. spending a lot of time wearing running shoes while not actually running) and set up an appointment with the ortho just out of paranoid caution. My ortho is kind of a big deal and wasn’t available until the end of next week, so I met with one of her colleagues this morning. He did all of the usual manual tests to see if any of them made me end up on the ceiling, but no dice. He did find an area of tenderness which he’s slightly concerned about, so we had x-rays done to see if there are any underlying injuries to the bone that might just be getting aggravated (for the uninitiated, a new stress fracture won’t show up on an x-ray until it’s well into the healing phase), but nothing there either. Yay!!

On a side note, my calf muscles look seriously amazing in x-ray form. 😉

So he’s about 85-90% confident that it is not a stress fracture, but he can’t completely rule it out just yet because of one of the medications I’m on.

The good doctor then gave me the option of either self-monitoring (because runners are sooo good at self-imposed rest and restraint) or going to a short stint of PT, mainly to use the Alter G. Um, duh – Alter G always wins. I love that thing.

So I start PT this Friday 🙂 They’re probably going to work on loosening some tight muscles and keeping an eye on that area while I log some miles on the Alter G. Unfortunately, my PT is no longer with this group, but fortunately, this group opened up a location with an Alter G half an hour closer to my home. Kinda bummed that I have to get to know a new PT, but I’m super excited about not having to drive allllllll the way downtown twice a week.

Let’s just hope this blip is just that – a blip – and that the rest of the summer will go smoothly! 🍀

ef1f8bf1a44e23b62f941e0a977af848

Leave a Reply

