Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

Ortho Update

8 Comments

I swear sometimes I’m actually a 90 year old… the best damn looking 90 year old in town, but I digress…

This morning I met with my ortho to determine whether my aches and pains are something I can run through or something I need to sit my butt down for.

The good news? No stress fractures! My bones look purrrrrrdy. Yay!!

The not-so-good news? I’ve got a laundry list of issues…

  1. The thigh/femur pain is actually a very angry sartorius muscle.
    Remember that song from kindergarten, “The knee bone’s connected to the thigh bone”? (ha! now that song’s stuck in your head for the rest of the week, too! 😉 )Yeah, well, dem bones tendons are all connected…. which leads us to…
  2. Bursitis of the Pes anserine, and
  3. Distal hamstring tendinitis.

another-injury-why

At least it’s not a stress fracture!! 😀

I get a cortisone injection for the bursitis next week, but this week’s long run is still in question. As the ortho said, if it hurts, don’t run. Ugh. But I can take OTC anti-inflamatories if they help. Yay! Well, not really yay, but you know… #runnerlogic

Luckily i was able to get in an awesome 5 mile run on the AlterG this afternoon. Started out at 70% body weight but was able to get up to 80% once the excedrin kicked in – and I did it in major PR territory! 43:43. Woo!!

Maybe I can break into the PT’s office this weekend and do my 16 miler on the AlterG so I don’t have to do it on the elliptical…. Only kinda sorta half joking….

tumblr_nj9p98yJWn1s1bdg8o1_500

Well, I wouldn’t actually break in, but I’m not above begging and crying. Seriously.

8 thoughts on “Ortho Update

  1. That’s great (not the worst) news! Hope you’re feeling better soon. Also love the Monty Python image!!

    Like

  2. Be careful with ibuprofen. Google it — distance running doesn’t go well with it. Hope you feel better soon!

    Like

    • That’s exactly why I made the decision to just go with the cortisone shot. I’m a little Leary of it, but I know that my stomach doesn’t handle NSAIDs well long-term and that endurance exercise just compounds those problems. I don’t need to add anymore woes to my plate!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the Monty Python meme! Glad your injuries aren’t as major as they could be, being laid up sucks, but there is always a silver lining!

    Like

  4. Sorry to hear about this! The PT where I used to go has an alter G and you can buy sessions and I think you can use them on the weekends? It was the medstar PT clinic at Harbor Hospital. I hope it feels better quickly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

