Run Doodle Run

The long road to 26.2

You Can Call Me Coach Doodle!

2 Comments

This summer I’m going to be coaching my first group!! Ahh!! This is something I’ve wanted to do for the last year and am SO excited to finally have the opportunity!

I’ll be coaching a group of runners for ~6 weeks in preparation for a 5k. Presumably, this group will be a mix of true beginners, first-time racers, and experienced runners/racers, but I’ll obviously find out more this summer.

I’ve been in this running game for a while and have lots of experience and knowledge to pass along, but I want to make sure I’m doing it in a way that is appropriate for all types of runners, specifically beginners. I’m feeling pretty confident on how to help the experienced runners (but I’m open for suggestions for them, too!), but never really trained exclusively for a 5k myself. In order to do this best, I would LOVE to get some feedback from all sorts of different runners!

  • What was the most intimidating thing about joining a training group for the first time?
  • What do you wish had been explained to you better when you first started running?
  • What did you like (or not like) about your first training group experience?
  • What worked best for motivating you (or what was a total flop)?
  • What do you wish your first coach knew that they didn’t?
2 thoughts on “You Can Call Me Coach Doodle!

  1. Congrats on coaching your first group! I’ve never run in a group but I would say when I first started training I needed to learn to set reasonable goals for myself (no 9 min/miles right off the bat). I also would have loved having someone really explaining speed workouts to me, and how to make the most out of my running.

    Like

Leave a Reply

